RESOURCES > Is My Information Safe? > Locking Files

Lock Files

All users

Various

Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. offers a file locking mechanism to avoid overwriting changes when multiple users access the same file simultaneously.

A file can be locked manually at any point, or will become locked automatically when starting to edit a Microsoft Word, Excel or PowerPoint file.

If you forget to lock the file, or are unable to lock the file (for instance, you do not have an Internet connection), and someone else edits the document simultaneously, then the first person to save the document will create a new version of the master document. The other user(s) that were simultaneously editing will have their saved versions appended with their names.

This mechanism ensures data will never be lost, however you may need to merge two or more documents if users forget to lock the files or be offline while editing.

There are four ways to lock files in Workplace, depending on how you access your files:

How to...

 

Forward this topic to others