DESKTOP > Workplace Desktop Settings > Back Up Data on your Computer

Back Up Your Computer

Team members with Allow Backup enabled in Edit a Team Member

Windows taskbar > > Preferences... > Preferences button > Backup tab

Mac menu bar > > Preferences... > Backup tab

In addition to the core functionality of Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. as a file sync and collaboration service, Workplace can also be used to back up data on your computer, thereby ensuring that it is safe from loss. Should your machine break or get stolen, you will always have the backups available to restore your data.

For more information, please refer to How Backups Work.

Unlike the core sync functions, backups are not shared. Use backups to ensure that files you don't want to share are safe, and that you can access them whenever you need them.

The Workplace backup feature is intended only for backing up personal files, items you don't intend to share, and files types we don’t recommend syncing (refer to File Types That Should Not Be Synced to Workplace).

If the Backup Folders policy is enabled for you, the Backup paths controlled by administrator check box on this tab will be selected by default upon installation, but you may clear the check box to customize the folders you wish to back up. If you select the check box again, only paths designated in this policy will be backed up. For more information about the Backup Folders policy, refer to Select Policies.

How to...


Forward this topic to others