DESKTOP > Workplace Desktop Settings > Run as a Service

Run as Service

All Windows Workplace Desktop users

For optimal results, we strongly recommend that you use Workplace Server rather than run Workplace Desktop as a service. For more information, please refer to About Workplace Server.

The Run as Service mode is only available on Windows machines.

This mode ensures that Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud. is constantly available, even when you are not logged in. This is particularly useful when installing Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. Desktop on a server. Your machine, of course, must be switched on and connected to the internet.

Service mode must only be used:

1. When running the AD Integration Agent as part of an AD On Prem implementation (refer to Integrate Active Directory: "On Prem" Method)

2. When running an Agent as a “File Server Agent” - refer to Before You Begin: Implementation for more information.

The Run As Service feature has the option to run as LocalSystem or as the Windows user under which Workplace Desktop is running.

The LocalSystem will enable Workplace Desktop to run as a background process even when the user is not logged in. It may not, however, have sufficient permissions to the data set to sync; the LocalSystem account requires full permissions to the data set in order for syncing to function properly. The Windows User account is more likely to have the necessary permissions to the data set, but must be part of the Admin group and listed in the “Log on as a service” policy in the Local Security Policy.

Should the Workplace service stop for any reason, the following prompt will be displayed upon restart of Workplace Desktop:

This dialog box offers the options to:

  • Start Service
    This option restarts the service.
  • Revert from Service
    This option reverts from service mode to “Unified Mode” (the standard mode).
  • Open Services Control Panel
    This option opens the Windows Services Control Panel.
  • Exit
    This option closes the dialog box without any action being taken.

How to...


Forward this topic to others