All Workplace Desktop users
for the Workplace menu
Your local Workplace folder for project, folder, or file management
Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud. is installed on your computer and runs silently in the background. It ensures that the latest versions of your files and files shared with you are available to you locally. It's also responsible for making backups of folders you have selected.
Projects that you store locally, on your desktop or laptop, are stored and managed in your Workplace Folder. That's where the local versions of projects synced to Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. are stored.
You can also create projects here, and sync them to Workplace.
If you are an administrator, you also have the option of using Local folder syncing, which allows any folder on your computer to be synced with the Workplace service, so you can sync projects to the locations most convenient for you. Refer to the Folder Sync Tab
Workplace Desktop will watch for changes to your locally stored projects as well as projects changed via Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team. and sync them, so your team is always working on the most recent versions of files.
While projects function mostly like any other folder, a key difference is that projects cannot be deleted within the Workplace folder on your device, but only from within the Workplace Online.
If a project is deleted from within the Workplace folder, it will only stop that project from syncing, but the project will still be available within Workplace Online, on your other devices, and to colleagues who have been granted access to the project.
This principle extends to moving a project on your device - the Workplace service sees a move as a 'copy-then-delete'. This means that moving a project into another project in the Workplace folder will result in all the data being duplicated - the project will be unsynced but will remain in the cloud and a copy will be created in the new location.
Files and folders within projects operate in a more conventional manner - if you delete them on your device, they are deleted in Workplace Online. If you move them, they are moved in Workplace Online. Such changes are replicated across all your devices and all of the members of your team that have access to the project or folder.
The project owner or anyone with Full Access permissions to the file or folder can delete the item on their device.
Setting permissions appropriately is a highly effective way to avoid deletions that inadvertently affect other users. Refer to Manage Project, Folder, and File Shares.
|Forward this topic to others|