ONLINE > Configuration > Policy Profiles > Projects To Sync

Manage Projects To Sync

Administrators and Super Administrators

Workplace Online > Configuration > Policy Profiles > open profile > Add Policies > Workplace Desktop Policies > select Projects to Sync > click Done > click Manage link.

The Projects to Sync policy allows you to specify which projects or subfolders within the project will automatically sync to a device. Once this policy is added to a policy profile, you can designate new path(s) on this page. You may wish to use this policy to allow users to Edit Documents Locally via Workplace Online, but prevent syncing to their Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. folder.

If the Projects to Sync policy is enabled, the ProjectA project is a top-level folder within Autotask Workplace. A project is the primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access. list controlled by administrator check box on the Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud. Workplace Sync Tab will be selected by default upon installation, but users may clear the check box to customize the projects they wish to sync.

If the user selects the check box again, only projects designated in this policy will be synced.

To lock down all Workplace Desktop user options, you can apply the Lock Workplace Desktop Preferences policy.

If you enable the Lock Workplace Desktop Preferences policy, changes you make to the Projects to Sync and Backup Folders policies (like adding new projects to sync) will automatically be propagated to Workplace Desktop devices affected by the changes. Once that's done, you can disable the Lock Workplace Desktop Preferences policy to allow users to regain control, if you wish.

For more information, refer to Select Policies.

How to...

 

Forward this topic to others