ONLINE > Projects > Delete and Undelete Items

Deleting and Undeleting

All users

Various paths

The Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. six-month data retention feature allows you to undelete data that has been deleted by mistake. Any files, folders or projects deleted within Workplace will be available to "undelete" for 180 days - so you can be sure that your data remains safe and secure even if accidentally deleted. At any point during the 180 day retention period, the file, folder or project can either be undeleted or restored (downloaded).

When you delete a project, which can only be done via Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team., the project is removed from Workplace, and therefore, from all your devices and all your team members' devices. No one will be able to access data once you delete it.

Delete, undelete, and restore permissions for projects operate according to the following rules:

  Workplace Online Desktop Agent Workplace MobileWorkplace Mobile is the Workplace application designed specifically for the various mobile platforms, providing access to Autotask Workplace. App
ProjectA project is a top-level folder within Autotask Workplace. A project is the primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access. Only project owners can delete, undelete and restore projects.* If anyone deletes a project, it will only unsync the project on that device.** It is not possible for anyone to delete a project.
File or Folder The project owner or anyone with Full Access can delete, undelete, and restore a file or folder.* The project owner or any user will Full Access permissions to the file or folder can delete it. The project owner or any user will Full Access permissions to the file or folder can delete it.
* Super Administrators can delete, undelete, and restore projects, files, or folders in Workplace Online via Manage Projects.
**Unsyncing a project will not result in its removal from other devices or in Workplace Online.

In Workplace, if you delete a file or folder, it is deleted for everyone!

Setting permissions appropriately is a highly effective way to avoid deletions that inadvertently affect other users. Refer to Manage Project, Folder, and File Shares.

How to...

 

Forward this topic to others