Edit Documents Locally via Workplace Online

NOTE  This feature requires the Workplace DesktopAlso known as the Workplace Desktop app, and in the context of this documentation, simply "the app," Workplace Desktop is the software installed on a computer that is responsible for synchronizing data between the local drive and the cloud. 5.1 or later to be installed and the account associated with the Workplace"Workplace" describes the Workplace service in its entirety. Desktop app must match the account being used via Workplace OnlineWorkplace Online is the web portal that users within a team can use to access their data and administer their team..

Local editing allows you to open files locally, within the associated application on your computer, without having to sync the file to your computer first. Once the file is opened using this feature, saving the file will automatically update the version on Workplace Online.

This means that projects don't have to be synced to the machine before they can be edited, while ensuring the updates are automatically pushed back to the Workplace service. This is particularly useful with large or infrequently used projects - rather than clogging the computer with files that you don't need on a day-to-day basis, the files within the project can easily be updated via the local editing feature. This feature allows you to work entirely from within Workplace Online without ever having to sync a project to your local machine.

NOTE  File auto-locking will only function if the file has been synced to your device. If you do not wish to sync the file, we recommend that you manually lock the file within Workplace Online first.

Local editing also means that you will not be restricted to Word, PowerPoint, and Excel files. As long as your computer recognizes the file type and can open it, you can edit to locally.

To configure local editing, refer to Desktop Integration.

How to...