Manage Project, Folder, and File Public Shares

If public shares have been enabled, all project owners and users with Public Shares permissions.

Workplace Online > Projects > Public Shares

Public shares allow anyone who has access to the Internet to view, download, and upload files stored on Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. at no additional cost, making it possible to collaborate with users that do not have an account in your Workplace team.

While team shares makes full collaboration and file sharing possible, public shares allow you to share items stored in Workplace with a wider audience.

A public share can be created for any project, folder or file.

Depending on the specific settings you select when creating public shares, you can allow public recipients to:

  • View, download, and/or upload files.
  • Overwrite the files you share with them.
  • Drop files for upload using an upload-only link.
  • Edit shared Office files (.docx, .pptx, .xlsx), with Office 365.

Editing with Microsoft Office requires a MS Office 365 commercial or business account.

To create a public share, you must either own the project or have Public Shares permissions for the item. Refer to Manage Project, Folder, and File Team Shares.

Public shares can be disabled for specific users or groups of users with Policy Profiles. If you are a member and cannot create public shares, ask your administrator if public shares have been disabled.

How to...

 

Forward this topic to others