Autotask Workplace Online > Projects > click a project, folder, or file > Click Shares
Autotask Workplace Online > Dashboard > click a project, folder, or file > Click Shares
Sharing with My Team
Autotask Workplace allows you to easily share information with your team. By default, Workplace provides only the creator of a project access to that information. This video reviews how to share projects with the appropriate permissions for each member, connection or group.
Workplace"Workplace" describes the Autotask Workplace service in its entirety. provides granular sharing permissions that allow you to control who can access your projects and folders, ensuring you data remains safe and secure.
Project, folder, and file sharing is designed to support collaboration with the other members of your team. To share documents with users outside your team, please refer to Manage Project, Folder, and File Public Links.
When a new project is created within Workplace, the creator automatically becomes the owner of the project and, by default, is the only person who can access the project.
Projects must be shared before other users on the team can access the contents of that project.
Projects must be shared with a specific Workplace server before they can be synced to that server.
The following levels of permission are available:
|Share Permission Levels|
|Online View Only1||Read-Only||Modify||Create & Modify||Full Access|
Download, Print, Save, Sync to Workplace FolderThe Workplace Folder is a folder created on the local drive of a computer which contains the synchronized folders and files from the associated Workplace account.
|Email to ProjectA project is a top-level folder within Autotask Workplace. A project is the primary container for all the folders and files that are synchronized by the Workplace service. Projects create the basic organizational structure to store data and control user access. (if enabled2)|
|Copy Folder SharesShares are permissions set on a project, folder, or file which determine the level of access extended to specified users and groups. with Folder3|
1 Items viewed by users with Online View Only access may be watermarked, depending on whether or not the Watermark Preview policy is enabled for their policy profile. For more information, refer to Policy Profiles and Select Policies.
2 For more information about the Email to Project feature, refer to Upload files to a Project or Folder via Email.
3 You may only copy folder shares along with the contents of a folder if you are the project owner or if you have full access to the project and reshare permissions for both the original project and the project you are copying the folder to.
To ensure you only share the files you intend to share, please note:
Permissions are granular, meaning you can provide access to only certain folders within a project if desired. If you want team members to only have access to specific folders, then only share those specific folders with them. They will see the project and the folder structure leading to the shared folder, but will not see any other folders or files in the project structure.
Permissions are inherited. Any folders and files within the project or folder you have shared will automatically have the same permissions applied to them.
- A lower level of permissions cannot be applied than the inherited permission. For instance, if you have given Full Access to a project, you cannot restrict that team member to Read-Only or Modify permissions for any of the contents of that project. This also means that access cannot be restricted to a folder or file within a project or folder that has been shared.
- Permissions can be increased for sub-folders. For instance, if you’ve granted Online View Only at the project level, you can grant Modify access to a sub-folder and Full Access to a sub-folder within that sub-folder.
You will not be able to share a project or folder unless you are either the project owner, or another user who has been granted reshare permission, has granted reshare permissions to you.
- Locate the project or folder you wish to share in any of these locations:
- Use on the following methods to access the Shares view, depending where you are:
- In the detail views, click Shares to expand the Shares area or select More > Share > Share (Project or Folder) in the button menu.
- Type the name or email address of the share recipient, or click the icon and select the share recipient there.
- Adjust the access level you wish to grant to the share recipient(s) from the Select Permissions dropdown list.
- Optionally, select the Reshare check box, the Public Links check box, or both. The Reshare option allows the recipient to access the Share tab and share the item with other members of the team. The Public Links option allows the recipient to create public shares to the item.
You will only be able to grant permissions equal to or less than their own permissions to that project or folder.
You cannot grant reshare or public link creation permissions to connections. Even if they are granted full access, they will not be able to access those functions.
- Optionally, select the Send the share alert as a Text message check box. If you wish to modify the text, click the Edit message link and edit the message in the text box. You may use up to 899 characters.
- Click the Share (Project or Folder) button.
You will only be able to modify the access levels of other users if you own the project or have Reshare permissions for the project or folder. You cannot grant greater access to another user than you have. For example, if you have Create & Modify permissions, you cannot grant another user Full Access permissions.
- Go to the Share view for the item for which you want to modify permissions.
- Click the access level for the share recipient(s) in the (Project or Folder) Permissions column.
- Modify the share recipient's permissions as necessary.
- Click Save.
Alternatively, you can hover over the share recipient and click the icon, or right-click the share recipient, and select Update Permissions. This will open the Update Permissions popup.
Make your changes and click Update Permissions.
- Go to the share view for the item for which you want to remove permissions.
- Hover over the share recipient and click the icon, or right-click the share recipient.
- Select Remove from Project. This will open the Remove from (Project or Folder) popup:
- If the resource has been granted different access levels for different portions of the project, you can select the check box corresponding to a folder to remove them from that folder and its contents only.
Resources or groups removed from the project or folder will lose access to the item and all sub-folders and files. Project sync will also be suspended.
- Click the Remove from (Project or Folder) button to confirm.
- Go to the share view and locate the share recipient you wish to email.
- Hover over the share recipient and click the icon, or right-click the resource.
- Select Email. This will open a new message to the share recipient in your default email application.
- Click the check box in the table header to select all recipients or select the check boxes for multiple individual share recipients.
- Select the function you want to perform from the menu that appears to the left of the list.
- Complete the function as described in one of the areas above.
The Project Shares Outline displays the project and folder share structure and provides links to the Shares view of each. The number of share recipients appears next to the project or folder name. The outline format allows you to easily navigate to other shared folders in the project.
This feature is particularly useful when you want to grant a access to a file. In order to do so, you would click the folder or project link and grant access at that level.
To use the Project Shares Outline, click on another level in the outline. This will open the Shares view at that level of the project.
|Forward this topic to others|